Former Lives
Other cities, other plans; different friends, different dreams; former loves, former lives. After fifteen years in Death Cab for Cutie, Ben Gibbard didn’t make his first solo album in search of a new beginning; instead, it closes a door.
“These songs span eight years, three relationships, living in two different places, drinking then not drinking” he says of the dozen tracks that comprise Former Lives. “They’re a side story, not a new chapter.”
Still, what we keep for ourselves is often just as interesting as what we choose to share.
Former Lives is a gorgeous shadow anthology, the exuberant sound of one of our best songwriters finding his voice by experimenting with those of others. “In Death Cab, we’ve always been very specific,” Ben explains. “We record for the album and then maybe two or three more.” But fresh ideas and new experiences don’t stop during the weeks and months between the studio and the tour bus; life rarely follows a neatly organized itinerary. “When I’m home between records my only job is writing songs,” Ben says. “So when I get up in the morning, what else am I gonna do?” Over time, stray ideas – some fully-formed, others just flecks of melody – filled notebooks and hard drives but as Death Cab songs they never quite, in Ben’s words, “fit into the whole.”

01 Shepherd’s Bush Lullaby
02 Dream Song
03 Teardrop Windows
04 Bigger Than Love
05 Lily
06 Something’s Rattling (Cowpoke)
07 Duncan, Where Have You Gone?
08 Oh, Woe
09 A Hard One to Know
10 Lady Adelaide
11 Broken Yolk in Western Sky
12 I’m Building a Fire

Benjamin Gibbard

Former Lives

€ 14.00

Availability: In Stock

CD Digipak

Release date: 19 Oct 2012

Sku: Slang50029

add to cart add to cart

▾ Clothing types
▾ Music formats
▾ Stuff